logo

korean english

게시판

Home > 게시판 > 세미나

아래와 같이 콜로퀴움을 개최하오니 많이 참석해 주시기 바랍니다.

4시 20분부터 제1과학관 31214 e+강의실에서 다과를 준비하오니 많은 참석 부탁드립니다.


아 래


Title: Grain boundary effect in Metal : A journey of discovery from crystal to thin films without grain boundaries


Speaker: Prof. Se-Young Jeong   ( Department of Cogno-mechatronics Engineering, Pusan National University )


Date & Time: Sep. 23 (Wed.) 2015, 4:30 PM 


Place: Natural Science 1,  Room No. 31214


Abstract: It is well known that the resistivity of a metal is governed by electron–phonon scattering at room temperature, and by electron-impurity scattering at low temperatures. However, questions remain regarding the quantitative grain-boundary (GB) effect on the resistivity at room temperature. Upon examination of metal single crystals, we determined the degree to which the resistivity of the metal could be reduced by the elimination of the GB effect. Moreover, the resistivity continued to decrease, finally reaching its minimum value with successive iterations of GB reduction. Our results indicated that this approach works not only in bulk single crystals but also in thin films.
Radio-frequency (RF) sputtering usually produces polycrystalline films with numerous GBs. However, we developed a new method to grow a thin metal film without GBs; the resulting film quality was comparable to that produced using molecular beam epitaxy (MBE). This proposed technique also enables the fabrication of micro/nano-mesh structures of Cu electrodes on polyimide substrates for flexible, transparent conducting electrode (TCE) fabrication via ultraviolet (UV)-lithography and wet over-etching techniques.
Copper may potentially provide an advantage over silver; however, many questions remain with regard to revealing its full potential. Single crystal study may resolve these questions and those related to new materials yet to be discovered. Thus, a great adventure opens up, as we continue to explore the world of single crystals.

번호 제목 날짜 조회 수
공지 <12/8(Thu.) 11:00am>노벨상 소개 강연 - 2016년 노벨 물리학상: 위상 응집 물리의 탄생 2016.11.28 1089551
396 <Nov. 23(Wed.)> 단백질 구조예측과 알파폴드의 물리학 2022.11.17 41
395 <Nov. 16(Wed.)> 원자핵의 존재 한계를 찾아서 2022.11.11 44
394 <Nov. 9(Wed.)> 천체와 우주의 진화에서 보는 원소의 기원 2022.11.02 338
393 <Nov. 2(Wed.)> The latest from quantum Hall effect in graphene family 2022.10.27 137
392 <Oct. 26(Wed.)>Atomic-scale observation of structural phase transition of strontium ferrite 2022.10.22 157
391 <Oct. 12(Wed.)>Neurodegenerative Diseases from the Chemical Force Point of View 2022.10.05 975
390 <Oct. 5(Wed.)>“사라진 중성미자를 찾아서” 2022.09.29 208
389 <Sep. 21(Wed.)>Dynamics and thermodynamics of bimolecular reactions at aqueous-nonaqueous interfaces 2022.09.15 292
388 <Sep. 14(Wed.)>The Next Generation of Photonic Sources – Light-Emitting Devices 2022.09.08 508
387 <Sep. 7(Wed.)>Flavor of particles, as a key for New physics 2022.09.01 536
386 2022학년도 2학기 콜로퀴움 일정 2022.06.22 1663
385 <May 18(Wed.)>Magnetoresistance and Hall effects of Fe5Sn3 single crystals 2022.05.12 1762
384 <May 11(Wed.)>Key Nuclear Experimental Studies to Find the Origin of Elements 2022.05.04 2920
383 <May 4(Wed.)>Recent progress in the study of topological phases of matter 2022.04.27 1756
382 <Apr. 27(Wed.)> I) A few first questions by me. II) ‘Topotactic resistance switching RAM’의 최초 발견 2022.04.20 1787
381 <Apr. 20(Wed.)> 반도체 공정용 플라즈마 물리 2022.04.14 1783
380 <Apr. 6(Wed.)> Holographic Flat Panel Displays 2022.03.30 2468
379 <Mar. 30(Wed.)> Two-dimensional Semiconductors and their applications 2022.03.23 2621
378 <Mar. 23(Wed.)> Next-generation artificial intelligence devices and physics 2022.03.16 3536
377 <Mar. 16(Wed.)> 현세대/차세대 이차전지 기술 동향 및 전망 2022.03.02 2298