logo

korean english

게시판

Home > 게시판 > 세미나

아래와 같이 콜로퀴움을 개최하오니 많이 참석해 주시기 바랍니다.


4시 20분부터 제1과학관 31214 e+강의실에서 간단한 다과를 제공합니다.


아 래


Title: Hidden-in-bulk Phase Transitions in Artificial Quantum Materials


Speaker: 이  대  수 교수님 (Department of Physics, POSTECH)


Date & Time: Nov. 7. (Wed.) 2018 4:30 PM


Place: Natural Science 1,  Room No. 31214


Abstract: A major challenge in condensed matter physics is predictive control of physical properties and functions in complex materials. In this talk, I will demonstrate a heterostructuring approach to engineer free-energy landscape and stabilize a new state, otherwise away from equilibrium, in a controlled way. First, as a model material, I choose an archetypal correlated material VO2, which has the insulating ground state of the monoclinic phase. A designed heterostructure suppresses the electronic correlation without changing the crystal structure in this otherwise correlated insulator. It stabilizes a nonequilibrium metallic state, leading to an isostructural metal-insulator transition. In addition, I will show emergence of an ordered ferroelectric state in ultrathin films of an otherwise non-ferroelectric SrTiO3. This challenges the long-standing notion that a collective order (e.g., ferroelectricity) is inevitably suppressed at the scale of a few nanometers. Last, I will shortly discuss on how the atomic-layer-controlled heterostructuring can manipulate complex phase transitions in a predictive manner. These discoveries highlight the ability to control the hidden-in-bulk phase transitions in heterostructures, as well as provide new insights for exploring complex materials.

번호 제목 날짜 조회 수
공지 <12/8(Thu.) 11:00am>노벨상 소개 강연 - 2016년 노벨 물리학상: 위상 응집 물리의 탄생 2016.11.28 1090967
276 <May 10(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Trend and beyond of semiconductor technology (반도체 미세화 및 신기술 동향) 2017.05.04 56659
275 <April. 12 (Wed.) 4:30 PM>디랙물질을 통해서 본 강상관 계의 양자 홀로그래피적 조명: 2017.04.05 51828
274 <April. 5 (Wed.) 4:30 PM>Majorana quasiparticles emergent in Kitaev quantum magnets 2017.03.31 85063
273 <Mar. 29(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Search for New Elements 2017.03.22 105827
272 <Mar. 22(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Symmetry and topology in the electronic structure of solids 2017.03.15 57310
271 <Mar. 15(Wed.) 4:30 PM>반도체 Fab Process와 물리학 전공자 2017.03.14 54747
270 2017학년도 1학기 콜로퀴움 일정 2017.01.05 334541
269 <Dec. 14(Wed.) 4:30 PM>중력과 양자 얽힘 (tentative) 2016.12.07 54897
268 <Dec. 7(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Mechanotransduction of cells in vitro(세포기능의 역학적 조절) 2016.11.30 85239
267 <Nov. 30(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Chiral solitons for topological informatics 2016.11.23 82700
266 <Nov. 23(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Dry (Plasma) etch process in Semiconductor Device 2016.11.16 63238
265 <Nov. 16(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Two-dimensional Chiral Materials and Topological Insulators 2016.11.10 204682
264 <Nov. 9(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 20-nm resolution imaging of brain circuitry by next-generation expansion microscopy 2016.11.02 54765
263 <Nov. 2(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 현대 우주론 이론과 관찰 (Theories and observations of modern cosmology) 2016.10.19 56145
262 <Oct. 19(Wed.) 10:00 AM> Hyper-Kamiokande project -The future of neutrino physics in Japan 2016.10.12 64048
261 <Oct. 12(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Silk as a biocompatible optical material 2016.10.05 66910
260 <Oct. 5(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 국제원자력기구 (IAEA)와 핵데이터 2016.09.22 63995
259 <Sep. 21(Wed.) 4:30 PM>광자질량의 물리학 2016.09.19 56811
258 <Sep. 7(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Manipulating spins in topological insulators 2016.09.02 91440
257 2016학년도 2학기 콜로퀴움 일정 2016.08.02 97111