logo

korean english

게시판

Home > 게시판 > 세미나

아래와 같이 콜로퀴움을 개최하오니 많이 참석해 주시기 바랍니다. .


4시 20분부터 제1과학관 31214 e+강의실에서 간단한 다과를 제공합니다.


아 래


Title: Majorana quasiparticles emergent in Kitaev quantum magnets


Speaker:         교수님 (중앙대학교)


Date & Time: April. 5. (Wed.) 2017, 4:30 PM


Place: Natural Science 1,  Room No. 31214


Abstract: Quantum spin liquids are a long-range quantum entangled state that entails topological order and fractionalization of constituent magnetic moments. Their physical realization holds promise for the implementation of decoherence-free quantum computer and provides a unified conceptual framework that underpins dark matter in universe, composite fermions in quantum Hall liquids, magnetic monopoles in spin ices, and spinons in frustrated magnets. The Kitaev honeycomb lattice is envisioned as an ideal host for Majorana quasiparticles that are created out of the spin liquid vacuum. In this talk, we will present experimental signatures of Majorana fermions emergent in Kitaev materials: the 2D honeycomb lattice α-RuCl3 and the harmonic-honeycomb iridates β- and γ-Li2IrO3. In α-RuCl3 extensive thermodynamic and spectroscopic measurements unveil two distinct characters of fractionalized excitations as a result of thermal fractionalization of s=1/2 spins. In the hyperhoneycomb iridates, polarization-resolved Raman spectroscopy shows a thermal damping of fermionic excitations, expanding the concept of fractionalized quasiparticles to a 3D Kitaev-Heisenberg spin system.


번호 제목 날짜 조회 수
공지 <12/8(Thu.) 11:00am>노벨상 소개 강연 - 2016년 노벨 물리학상: 위상 응집 물리의 탄생 2016.11.28 1089968
136 <Oct. 12(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Silk as a biocompatible optical material 2016.10.05 66855
135 <Oct. 19(Wed.) 10:00 AM> Hyper-Kamiokande project -The future of neutrino physics in Japan 2016.10.12 63999
134 <Nov. 2(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 현대 우주론 이론과 관찰 (Theories and observations of modern cosmology) 2016.10.19 56116
133 <Nov. 9(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 20-nm resolution imaging of brain circuitry by next-generation expansion microscopy 2016.11.02 54716
132 <Nov. 16(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Two-dimensional Chiral Materials and Topological Insulators 2016.11.10 204487
131 <Nov. 23(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Dry (Plasma) etch process in Semiconductor Device 2016.11.16 63174
130 <Nov. 30(Wed.) 4:30 PM> Chiral solitons for topological informatics 2016.11.23 82620
129 <Dec. 7(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Mechanotransduction of cells in vitro(세포기능의 역학적 조절) 2016.11.30 85126
128 <Dec. 14(Wed.) 4:30 PM>중력과 양자 얽힘 (tentative) 2016.12.07 54851
127 2017학년도 1학기 콜로퀴움 일정 2017.01.05 332985
126 <Mar. 15(Wed.) 4:30 PM>반도체 Fab Process와 물리학 전공자 2017.03.14 54713
125 <Mar. 22(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Symmetry and topology in the electronic structure of solids 2017.03.15 57257
124 <Mar. 29(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Search for New Elements 2017.03.22 105657
» <April. 5 (Wed.) 4:30 PM>Majorana quasiparticles emergent in Kitaev quantum magnets 2017.03.31 84865
122 <April. 12 (Wed.) 4:30 PM>디랙물질을 통해서 본 강상관 계의 양자 홀로그래피적 조명: 2017.04.05 51776
121 <May 10(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Trend and beyond of semiconductor technology (반도체 미세화 및 신기술 동향) 2017.05.04 56606
120 <May 17(Wed.) 4:30 PM>Printed Electronics 2017.05.10 123504
119 <May 24(Wed.) 4:30 PM>누구나 과학을 통찰하는 법 2017.05.17 52720
118 <May 31(Wed.) 4:30 PM>중력파, 새로운 천문학과 물리학의 시작 2017.05.24 52279
117 <June 7(Wed.) 4:30 PM> 물리학으로 보는 인간과 사회 2017.05.31 51833