logo

korean english

게시판

Home > 게시판 > 세미나

○ 일시: 7월 12일(화) 오전 11:00

○ 장소: 기초과학연구소 세미나실 (31317호)

○ 연사: 이  상  현  박사님 (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK) )

Title: Spin-direction-dependent magnetoelastic coupling on MnO, CoO, and NiO

○ Abstract: 

High resolution time-of-flight neutron diffraction and group theory resolved not only the long-standing problems of magnetic structure and phase transition mechanism in MnO, CoO, and NiO but also the issue of general symmetry in magnetic moment [1, 2]. Exchangestriction and new magnetostriction, so-called dipolar-magnetostriction and roto-magnetostriction, that induce phase transition from paramagnetic rocksalt structure to common C2/m monoclinic structure with magnetic propagation vector km=(0 1 0.5). We classify those into two groups by Γ1+(Ag)=(0, My, 0) and Γ2+(Bg)=(Mx, 0, Mz) spin direction in the order-parameter vector diagram. Time-reversal symmetry breaking causes discontinuous phase transition with linear-quadratic coupling Δβ~M2 between monoclinic angle Δβ and magnetic moment M. However, CoO and NiO show continuous phase transition with linear-cubic coupling Δβ~M3 forbidden by time-reversal symmetry. To the best of our knowledge, this is first experimental evidence that both magnetic moment and structural distortion can belong to same irreducible representation. Time-reversal symmetry prohibits same irreducible representation between them. The experimental results open a way to find new physics forbidden by time-reversal symmetry in condensed matter physics and material science.


번호 제목 날짜 조회 수
공지 <12/8(Thu.) 11:00am>노벨상 소개 강연 - 2016년 노벨 물리학상: 위상 응집 물리의 탄생 2016.11.28 1090449
698 <Dec. 9(Fri.)>Confirming Topological Materials by ARPES 2022.12.02 1
697 <Dec. 20(Tue.)>Studying TeV Gamma-Ray Microquasars with the HAWC Observatory 2022.12.01 13
696 <Nov. 21(Mon.)> Strong magneto-elastic coupling observed in ultrafast lattice dynamics of SrRuO3 based superlattices 2022.11.15 36
695 <Nov. 23(Wed.)> 단백질 구조예측과 알파폴드의 물리학 2022.11.17 46
694 <Nov. 16(Wed.)> 원자핵의 존재 한계를 찾아서 2022.11.11 47
693 <Nov. 11(Fri.)> On the origin of CDW in two-dimensional materials 2022.11.04 88
692 <Nov. 11(Fri.)> Nonvanishing anomalous Hall effect in Mn3Al- compensated ferrimagnetic Heusler compound 2022.11.08 92
691 <Nov. 2(Wed.)> The latest from quantum Hall effect in graphene family 2022.10.27 139
690 <Oct. 26(Wed.)>Atomic-scale observation of structural phase transition of strontium ferrite 2022.10.22 158
689 <Oct. 5(Wed.)>“사라진 중성미자를 찾아서” 2022.09.29 223
688 <Sep. 21(Wed.)>Dynamics and thermodynamics of bimolecular reactions at aqueous-nonaqueous interfaces 2022.09.15 303
687 <Nov. 9(Wed.)> 천체와 우주의 진화에서 보는 원소의 기원 2022.11.02 387
686 <Sep. 14(Wed.)>The Next Generation of Photonic Sources – Light-Emitting Devices 2022.09.08 530
685 <Sep. 7(Wed.)>Flavor of particles, as a key for New physics 2022.09.01 551
684 <Oct. 12(Wed.)>Neurodegenerative Diseases from the Chemical Force Point of View 2022.10.05 997
683 2022학년도 2학기 콜로퀴움 일정 2022.06.22 1681
682 <May 4(Wed.)>Recent progress in the study of topological phases of matter 2022.04.27 1768
681 <May 18(Wed.)>Magnetoresistance and Hall effects of Fe5Sn3 single crystals 2022.05.12 1774
680 <Apr. 20(Wed.)> 반도체 공정용 플라즈마 물리 2022.04.14 1800
679 <Apr. 27(Wed.)> I) A few first questions by me. II) ‘Topotactic resistance switching RAM’의 최초 발견 2022.04.20 1803